Oak & Acorn: Beet Brownies

Beet Brownies

If you are having a sweet craving but want to add a little healthy nutrition, try this recipe for Beet Brownies! [Photo credit: (c) Leslie Lynn Lucio]

Recently we had some rainy days, so we spent a lot of time doing activities indoors. Whenever we have days like that, we do things like play games, read books, do a puzzle and usually we end up baking a delicious treat or some yummy food together. I don’t like giving my six-year old daughter Thu, too many sweets but I admit that I was the one craving a sweet really bad the other day that I decided we should bake something. While going through the kitchen, I saw some beets and thought that maybe we should give it another go to make some beet brownies.

I have actually tried out several beet brownie recipes and had yet to be satisfied with one that I really like a lot. This past week when we made some, we experimented with substituting ingredients we like and also I modified the measurements to what seemed like a good recipe.

I’m a huge fan of beets, but that definitely wasn’t the case when I was a kid. My parents never cooked with them but occasionally I would see my Dad eat one, raw and by itself. Not me though. My six year old who loves almost every vegetable on the planet, isn’t a big fan of beets so I was surprised that she jumped for joy when I asked her if she wanted to bake beet brownies with me. I guess you can’t really go wrong when the word “brownie” is brought up.

Beets are so beneficial for you. I’m a vegetarian, so I appreciate that it’s high in Vitamin B and iron. The leaves of beets are also edible and pretty tasty. I’ve used them in recipes that call for spinach and have been very satisfied with them.

If you are having a sweet craving but want to add a little healthy nutrition, then you should try these. This recipe will make very moist brownies, yum!

I was surprised that my daughter jumped for joy when I asked her if she wanted to bake beet brownies. I guess you can’t really go wrong when the word “brownie” is brought up! [Photo credit: Leslie Lynn Lucio]

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of pureed beets (generally about 3 medium sized beets)
  • 1/4 cup of unsalted butter(soft at room temperature)
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce
  • 1/4 cup of sucanat (regular cane sugar works if you don’t have this)
  • 1/4 cup + 3 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extra
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour (gluten free flour works well too)
  • 1/3 cup + 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips(optional)
  1. Scrub beets and cut end of stem. Wrap in foil and roast for an hour at 400 degrees. This may take less or more time, depending on the size of your beets. Beets will be ready when soft. When beets are ready, give them a little time to cool. Your beets will be ready when the skin can remove easily. Puree beets in a food processor or blender and set aside. You can also chop beets and boil, I prefer to roast them for the flavor.
  2. Mix applesauce, maple syrup and sucanat. When it’s well blended add the vanilla, then eggs one at a time. Then add your cup of pureed beets which will bring a delightful color to the mix.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix flour and cocoa powder. Now, mix flour mixture with the wet ingredients.
  4. Add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips if you want that extra kick of chocolate.
  5. In a 9×9 pan, bake these at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Leslie Lynn Lucio
Leslie Lynn LucioLeslie is from Texas but has always been drawn to New England. She lives in the town of Northampton and loves living in Western Massachusetts. She spends a lot of time with her five year old and connecting with the community. Her interest include cooking, DIY projects,writing, biking, being outdoors, photography, restoration, food preservation and social activism. She spends some of her time farming when she can and also you can spot her working with the Pedal People.

Leave a Comment

